top of page

UPOV Council Appoints New Secretary General, CAJ Plans Seminar on Harvested Material

Geneva, October 30 - The Council of the International Union for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants (UPOV) held its 54th ordinary session by virtual means on October 30, 2020. The key decisions included:

  • Mr Daren Tang was appointed UPOV's new Secretary-General for the period from October 30, 2020, to September 30, 2026, in a procedure by correspondence on October 25. The new Secretary-General, on behalf of the Council, awarded a Gold Medal to Mr Francis Gurry, former Secretary-General, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to UPOV as Secretary-General from October 30, 2008, to September 30, 2020. Read more.

  • The Council also extended the appointment of the Vice Secretary-General, Mr Peter Button, from December 1, 2021, until November 30, 2022.

  • The CAJ agreed to propose to the Council to organize a seminar in the first half of 2021, to exchange information on matters concerning harvested material and unauthorized use of propagating material.

  • The Council elected the following as Chairpersons for a term of three years ending with the fifty-seventh ordinary session of the Council, in 2023: Mr Christopher Barnaby (New Zealand) as Chairperson of the Technical Working Party for Fruit Crops (TWF); Ms Ashley Balchin (Canada) as Chairperson of the Technical Working Party for Ornamental Plants and Forest Trees (TWO); Ms Beate Rücker (Germany) as Chairperson of the Working Group on Biochemical and Molecular Techniques, and DNA-Profiling in Particular (BMT).

  • The Council has also released the latest UPOV statistics: Download.


bottom of page